Our railway first opened on 1st May 1911, and has been delighting visitors for over a hundred years!
We offer a nostalgic experience suitable for children of all ages. Most of our visitors begin by enjoying a train ride on what is now Britain’s oldest miniature line. Our steam trains were built in Rhyl during the 1920s, and so have been hauling passengers around Marine Lake for the last eighty years! Even our first train from 1911 recently returned to us after over 90 years away!
Upon returning to ‘Central Station’, find out more about our story in our museum, where there are hands on exhibits to amuse the younger ones. Our ticket office sells tea and coffee, confectionery and a good range of children’s gifts. The station, museum and toilets are open on every day that trains are operating. We have good facilities for disabled visitors, look here for our Access Statement.
The railway is located at Marine Lake, only a short walk from the new iconic pedestrian bridge Pont y Ddraig. Visitors during 2018 will be able to explore the bridge, harbour and sand dunes after visiting us.
COME AND JOIN US FOR A FANTASTIC WEEKEND OF FUN
FUN FOR ALL THE FAMILY
White Socks and a Walking Stick
The Life of Albert Barnes – One of Rhyl’s Silent Forces
Kathryn Nedd (nee Hughes) was born and grew up in Rhyl surrounded by the fairground. White Socks and a Walking Stick is the result of Kathryn’s extensive research in to her family history, particularly her grandfather Albert Barnes and his incredible contribution to Rhyl’s heydey success. A great read for anyone with an interest in history, be it Rhyl, Stanningley or fairground rides!